Variety, the Children’s Charity today announced the nominees for the annual Catherine Awards, which celebrate and showcase inspiring women from the worlds of business and philanthropy.

This year’s nominees include Dame Natalie Sara Massenet, founder and former CEO of premier online luxury fashion destination Net-A-Porter; chief executive of Starling Bank, Anne Boden, creative director of her eponymous beauty and skincare brand, Charlotte Tilbury MBE and team GB Paralympian, Joy Haizelden amongst many others.

The winners of the awards will be decided by a panel of judges, all of whom have a proven record in their field. This year’s judges include sporting legend Paula Radcliffe MBE, Kanya King MBE, Founder, MOBO Awards, Lisa Francis, CEO, Barclays Private Bank, UK and Ireland, Dr Maggie Semple OBE and Lesley Batchelor OBE, Director General, Institute of Export and International Trade.

The winners will be announced at the Catherine Awards on 13 November, 2018 the London Marriott Hotel in Grosvenor Square.

The Variety Catherine Awards showcase and celebrate inspiring women in the UK who have excelled in their respective industries. All money raised from the awards will help Variety improve the lives of children and young people throughout the UK who are disabled or disadvantaged.

Pamela Sinclair, Chair of the Variety Catherine Awards committee, said:

“We are delighted that once again the Variety Catherine Awards has attracted the very highest calibre and diverse pool of talent from an amazing array of sectors. The judges will have an almost impossible task of picking winners. The committee is very much looking forward to recognising the achievements of all our nominees next month.”

The award categories are as follows:

  • Rising Star Award
  • Entrepreneurial Spirit Award
  • Finance and Banking Award
  • Professional Services Award
  • Creative Industries Award
  • Science and Technology Award
  • Retail and Fashion Award
  • Inspirational Award
  • Sports Industries Award
  • Women’s Empowerment in the Workplace Award

The 2018 Nominees are as follows:

Rising Star Award

  • Rav Bumbra – Structur3d People
  • Stephanie Khalef-Wassmer – JP Morgan
  • Erin Moroney – Nibble Protein
  • Temi Mwale – The 4Front Project
  • Lucy Pottinger – Orbis Education and Care
  • Amy Williams – Good-Loop

Entrepreneurial Spirit Award

  • Mavis Amankwah – Rich Visions
  • Lara Bywater – LDC Care Company
  • Pip Jamieson – The Dots
  • Sukhi Jutla – MarketOrders
  • Helen Mitchell – Blukudu Ltd
  • Jo Tutchener-Sharp – Scamp & Dude

Finance and Banking Award

  • Anne Boden OBE – Starling Bank
  • Maria Harris – Atom bank
  • Erica Ingham – MediaCom North Ltd
  • Madeleine McDougall – Lloyds Banking Group
  • Carolyn Porretta – AIG Asset Management Europe
  • Lorna Tilbian – Rightmove, Euromoney, M&C Saatchi, Jupiter UK Growth Investment Trust plc, Proven VCT plc

Professional Services Award

  • Alisa Grafton – Cheeswrights Notaries
  • Lesley Gregory – Memery Crystal
  • Tracey Groves – Intelligent Ethics
  • Karen Kerrigan – Seedrs
  • Sarah Khan-Bashir – MBE Shire Solicitors
  • Sara Maccallum – Boodle Hatfield LLP

Creative Industries Award

  • Karen Gibson – The Kingdom Choir
  • Vanessa Kingori – Vogue
  • Lisa Milton – HQ Stories
  • Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE – Chineke! Foundation
  • Professor Shirley J. Thompson – Shirley Thompson Music

Science and Technology Award

  • Kate Burns – Hambro Perks
  • Janthana Kaenprakhamroy – Tapoly
  • Riham Satti – MeVitae
  • Minerva Singh – Imperial College London
  • Samantha Z Tross – Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon

Retail and Fashion Award

  • Kate Hardcastle MBE – Insight with Passion
  • Dame Natalie Sara Massenet – Farfetch, Imaginary Ventures, Net-a Proter (formerly)
  • Sherrille Riley – Nails & Brows
  • Charlotte Tilbury – Charlotte Tilbury

Inspirational Award

  • Baroness Floella Benjamin OBE – DL Floella Benjamin Productions
  • Henny Braund – Anthony Nolan
  • Margaret Casely-Hayford – Shakespeare’s Globe
  • Camilla Marcus-Dew – The Soap Co.
  • Taban Shoresh – The Lotus Flower
  • Julia Streets – Streets Consulting Ltd

Sports Industries Award

  • Crista Cullen MBE – Olympic Gold Medal Winner and avid conservationist
  • Joy Haizelden – Paralympian
  • Julia Immonen – Justice and Care
  • Joanna Tongue – Tongue Tied Media
  • Jayne Torvill OBE – English Ice Dancer and Olympic Gold Medal Winner

Women’s Empowerment in the Workplace Award

  • Beyond
  • Bird & Bird
  • Silicon Valley Bank
  • The Typeface Group
  • Women Returners