Variety, the Children’s Charity, has just revealed their shortlist of nominees for the 27th ‘the PROPS’ Awards, taking place at lunchtime on Tuesday 8 May at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

As one of the real estate industry’s key fundraising events, the event is designed to raise proceeds to purchase powered wheelchairs for disabled and disadvantaged children and young people throughout the UK. The Awards were first held in 1992 and have since generated over £10 million for the charity and 2,000 powered wheelchairs. This year’s Awards will be hosted by the rugby legend Martin Bayfield and will honour the most notable figures in the industry.

The most coveted of all the awards is the Lifetime Achievement Award with past winners including Gerald Ronson, Michael Slade and the late Irvine Sellar. This year the honour will go to Paul White, chairman of Frogmore Real Estate Partners.

The Awards cover a variety of categories including Deal of the Year, Property Lender of the Year, Development of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year and The Most Promising Newcomer of the Year. The shortlist includes names from across the property sector such as Mount Anvil, Legal & General, Carter Jonas, Hansteen Holdings and Ray Palmer of Palmer Capital

Variety was first established in Pittsburgh in 1928 and gradually became involved in helping disabled and disadvantaged children around the world.

Since then, more than £270 million has been raised by Variety in the UK providing over 5,500 Sunshine Coaches, almost the same number of wheelchairs, thousands of grants to individual children and life-saving support for children’s hospitals, hospices and youth clubs.

Nominations are as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award – Sponsored by the Santon Group


Most Promising Newcomer of the Year -Sponsored by Howard Kennedy

  • David Pearl – Structadene Ltd
  • Simon Silver – Derwent London plc
  • Tony Gibbon – GM Real Estate
  • Ian Marcus – Eastdil Secured

Residential Developer of the Year

  • Countryside Properties plc
  • London Square Ltd
  • U+I plc
  • Pocket Living Ltd
  • Telford Homes plc

Deal of the Year – Sponsored by Freedman Hilmi

  • Acquisition of Pure Student Living for £869m – IQ Student Accommodation
  • Acquisition & sale of India Buildings Liverpool for £125m – Shelborn Asset Management
  • Sale of Walkie Talkie for £1.3bn – LandSec and Canary Wharf Group
  • Sale of Vauxhall Square, London for £144m – CLS Holdings plc
  • Sale of Industrial Multi Property Trust for £116m – Hansteen Holdings

Residential Agent of the Year

  • Carter Jonas
  • Purple Bricks plc
  • Knight Frank
  • Dexters
  • Savills

Commercial Agent of the Year

  • GVA
  • DTRE
  • JLL
  • Kieran Cotter
  • Tudor Toone

Property Fund of the Year

  • Hermes Investment Management
  • Palmer Capital
  • M7 Real Estate
  • Legal and General Investment Management
  • Cain International

Property Lender of the Year – Sponsored by Palace Capital

  • Bank Leumi
  • Oaknorth Bank
  • DRC Capital
  • Morgan Stanley
  • Investec Bank

Residential Development of the Year – Sponsored by Lee Baron

  • Clarges Mayfair – British Land plc
  • Blake Tower, Barbican – Redrow plc
  • Royal Arsenal Riverside, Woolwich – Berkeley Group plc
  • Slate Yard, New Bailey, Salford – Legal & General Investment Management
  • Dollar Bay, Canary Wharf – Mount Anvil

Commercial Development of the Year – Sponsored by Crowe Clark Whitehill

  • Bloomberg London Building – Bloomberg LP
  • White Collar Factory – Derwent London plc
  • NED Hotel – Soho House Group
  • Finzels Reach, Bristol – Cubex Land
  • Westgate Centre – Land Securities Group plc & The Crown Estate

Entrepreneur of the Year – Sponsored by Generator Group

  • Ray Palmer – Founder & Chairman – Palmer Capital
  • Manish Gudka – CEO Aprirose
  • Allan Lockhart – Co-Founder and CEO NewRiver REIT Plc
  • Nick Jones – Founder & CEO – Soho House
  • Richard Croft – CEO – M7 Real Estate

Young Property Person of the Year

  • Tushar Agarwal – Founder & CEO of Hubble
  • Ishaan Malhi, Founder & CEO of Trussle
  • Jacob Loftus, CEO of General Projects
  • Vedrana B. Riley, CEO of Ciel Capital
  • Josh Garside – Managing Director Paradigm Property

Prop Tech Company of the Year

  • – Heather Russell
  • Datscha – Olly Freedman
  • ClicktoPurchase – Neil Singer
  • Rentify – Founder & CEO George Spencer
  • VTS – Chief Revenue Officer and Co-founder – Ryan Masiello

Book your table now to avoid disappointment. Click here to book your place.