Variety, the Children’s Charity, held its 22nd annual “the PROPS” Awards at the London Hilton, Park Lane, on Tuesday 14th May. With classic comedy moments and a celebration of the very best in the property sector, it was a wonderful afternoon that raised nearly £330,000 to support Variety’s work to improve young lives across the UK and, in particular, to support our powered wheelchair programme.

With close to 750 guests, a packed ballroom was entertained by a hugely enjoyable afternoon. Martin Bayfield was their perfect host for the event and provided a cool, calm and, also, comedic head when required. Alongside Martin was Miss World 2012, Wenxia Yu, who presented the awards to the winning recipients, who included Tony Pidgley, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award; Irvine Sellar, who attended the event and received the Development of the Year Award for The Shard development; and Martin Jepson, the Senior Vice President of Brookfield Office Properties, who received the Deal of the Year Award for the acquisition of the Hammerson Office Portfolio.

Variety was delighted to have our “the PROPS” Ambassador, Matt King LLB, in attendance for the afternoon. Matt delivered a wonderfully touching and inspiring speech about how his life has changed since his accident playing rugby in 2004 and how Variety helped him get his life back together by providing a £25,000 electric wheelchair. We also had a new “Ambassador” in Sophie Barnett whose life changed dramatically 18 months ago when a blood clot leaked into her spine, causing paralysis from the chest down. Our sincere thanks go to Sophie and her family for their support and attendance; Variety is so grateful for her help and is very proud to have been able to have supported her.

This year’s “the PROPS” Appeal raised nearly £330,000 for the Variety Wheelchairs programme, and that will go a long way towards providing many wheelchairs and other mobility aids to children and young people across the UK. Congratulations to all the winners!

“the PROPS” Winners List

Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by The Santon Group
Won by Tony Pidgley CBE

Outstanding Development of the Year
Sponsored by United House
Won by The Shard, collected by Irvine Sellar of Sellar Property Group

Entrepreneur of the Year
Sponsored by Regal Homes
Won by Alasdair Nicholls of Native Land

Deal of the year
Sponsored by Howard KennedyFSI
Won by Brookfield Office Properties for Hammerson Office Portfolio, collected by Martin Jepson

Property Fund of the Year
Sponsored by Zurich Insurance Plc
Won by Lone Star UK collected by Angus Dodd

Outstanding Contribution to London
Sponsored by Close Brothers Property Finance
Won by Argent LLP for Kings Cross collected by David Partridge

Property Lender of the Year
Sponsored by Marsh
Won by Close Brothers Property Finance collected by Frank Pennal

Most Promising Newcomer of the Year
Sponsored by Santander UK plc
Won by Nicholas Cowell of The Cowell Group

Young Property Person of the Year
Sponsored by Irwin Mitchell LLP
Won by Simon McCabe of Scarborough Group International